Call for Papers

.pdf file              .txt file                .rtf file

36th International Workshop
on Graph-Theoretic Concepts in Computer Science

(WG 2010)

Zarós, Crete, Greece
June 28-30, 2010

The WG 2010 conference will be held in Zaros, Crete, Greece. It  continues a long series of 35 previous WG's. Since 1975, it took
place twenty times in Germany, four times in the Netherlands,  twice in Austria, twice in France as well as once in Italy,
Slovakia, Switzerland, Czech Republic, Norway, and in  the United Kingdom.

Aims and Scope

WG 2010 aims at uniting theory and practice by demonstrating how  Graph-Theoretic concepts can be applied to various areas in
Computer Science, or by extracting new problems from applications.  The goal is to present recent research results and to identify
and explore directions of future research. The conference is  well-balanced  with respect to established researchers and young
scientists. For many years now, the proceedings have been  published in the LNCS series of Springer-Verlag. We need the
final version of accepted papers approximately two months after  the conference.

Papers are solicited describing original results on all aspects  of graph-theoretic concepts in Computer Science, e.g. structural
graph theory, sequential, parallel, randomised, parameterized,  and distributed graph and network algorithms and their
complexity, graph grammars and graph rewriting systems, graph-based modelling, graph-drawing and layout, random graphs, diagram
methods, and support of these concepts by suitable  implementations. The scope of WG includes all applications of
graph-theoretic concepts in Computer Science, including data  structures, data bases, programming languages, computational
geometry, tools for software construction, communications,  computing on the web, models of the web and scale-free networks,
mobile computing, concurrency, computer architectures, VLSI,  artificial intelligence, graphics, CAD, operations research, and
pattern recognition.

Invited Speakers

* Dimitris Achlioptas (Department of Computer Science UC Santa Cruz)
* Erik Demaine  (MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory)

Important Dates

  • Electronic Submission: March 5,  2010  
  • Notification of Acceptance: April 30, 2010 
  • Conference:  June 28-30, 2010  


Authors are invited to submit an extended abstract written in  English, no longer than 10 pages on letter-size or A4-size paper
using at least 11-point font (and preferably LaTeX article style  11pt a4paper). Proofs omitted due to space constraints must be
put into an appendix to be read by the program committee members  at their discretion. Simultaneous submission to other conferences
with published proceedings or to journals is not allowed.

Authors who wish to submit an extended abstract to WG 2010 must  submit a PDF file with their paper by using the electronic
submission system at:

Program Committee

    1.      Fedor V. Fomin - University of Bergen, Norway
    2.      Pierre Fraigniaud -  CNRS and University Paris Diderot, France
    3.      Gregory Z. Gutin  - Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
    4.      Frédéric Havet  - INRIA Sophia-Antipolis, France
    5.      Giuseppe F. Italiano  - University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy
    6.      Kazuo Iwama  - Kyoto University, Japan
    7.      Jan Kratochvíl - Charles University, Czech Republic
    8.      Jan van Leeuwen  - Utrecht University, The Netherlands
    9.      Bojan Mohar  - Simon Fraser University, Canada
    10.    David Peleg  - Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
    11.    Prabhakar Ragde  - University of Waterloo, Canada
    12.    Dieter Rautenbach - Ilmenau University of Technology, Germany
    13.    Saket Saurabh  - Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India
    14.    Ingo Schiermeyer  - Freiberg University of Mining and Technology, Germany
    15.    Maria Serna  - Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
    16.    Martin Skutella  - Technical University of Berlin, Germany
    17.    Dimitrios M. Thilikos  (Chair)  - National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece
    18.    Peter Widmayer  - Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, Switzerland
    19.    Gerhard J. Woeginger  - Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Excelent student paper award

WG 2010 will make available an award of 500 € for an excellent student paper.  This award will be given to the authors of a paper only
if it satisfies the following conditions:

1. Is accepted to WG 2010.

2. All its authors are students and all its previous versions have the same set of authors.
    An author is considered to be a student that has not received his/her PhD
    degree before the submission deadline of WG 2010.

3. The steering committee of WG decides that the paper is of exceptional quality.